#### UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

## REPORT NUMBER 254 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE Tuesday, May 21, 2019

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto

Your Committee reports that it met on Tuesday, May 21, 2019, at 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall with the following members present:

#### PRESENT: Steven J. Thorpe, Vice-Chair

Cheryl Regehr David Dubins Ernest W.N. Lam Susan McCahan Emmanuel Nikiema\* Richard Hegele\*

#### **REGRETS**:

Andrea M. Sass-Kortsak, Chair Jessie Tong

## SECRETARIAT:

Tracey Gameiro, Secretary, Agenda Committee

#### **IN ATTENDANCE:**

Daniella Mallinick, Director, Academic Programs, Planning & Quality Assurance, Office of the Vice-Provost, Academic Programs Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost, Office of the Vice-President and Provost

\*via conference call

#### The Meeting was held in Closed Session

## 1. Chair's Remarks

Professor Steven Thorpe, Vice-Chair, chaired the meeting in Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak's absence.

## **Approvals by Electronic Ballot**

The Chair noted that following the Committee's previous meeting, there had been a need, because of time constraints, to consider several academic administrative appointments by means of electronic ballot. He read the resolutions of May 2 and May 10, 2019.

#### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments

## UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO, MISSISSAUGA

Professor Amrita Daniere	Acting Vice-President and Principal May 2, 2019 to September 3, 2019
Professor Angela Lange	Acting Vice-Principal, Academic and Dean May 2, 2019 to September 3, 2019

## FACTOR-INWENTASH FACULTY OF SOCIAL WORK

Professor Dexter Voisin	Dean
	July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2024

#### 2. Academic Board: Review and Approval of Agenda – Thursday, May 30, 2019

The Committee reviewed and approved the (draft) agenda for the Academic Board Meeting scheduled for Thursday May 30, 2019. Members provided feedback for agenda item sponsors in order to aid with their preparation for the meeting.

The Provost indicated that she would not have an individual report for this meeting, but would be speaking to various agenda items.

It was determined that the agenda would include an education presentation by Professor Heather Boon, Vice-Provost, Faculty & Academic Life and Professor Sandy Welsh, Vice-Provost, Students, on *Academic Integrity Education at the University of Toronto*; and the approval of three new programs: Master of Health Science in Laboratory Medicine, Doctor of Nursing, and a Doctor of Education in Child Study and Education. Additionally, approval would be sought for a program closure: Master of Health Science in Medical Radiation Science. Academic Plans for the Faculty of Dentistry and the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, as well as teaching guidelines for the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work, were all to be presented for information. The Board would also be asked to approve two divisional constitutional amendments: Faculty of Information and Dalla Lana School of Public Health.

Also coming forward to the Academic Board for recommendation were an operational update to the *Code of Behaviour on Academic Matters*, as well as amendments to the *Terms of Reference* of the Discipline Appeals Board.

Items for information included six reports, with the Annual Report from the COU Academic Colleague, Semi-Annual reports from the University Tribunal and Academic Appeals Committee, and Committee Reports from the Agenda Committee, Committee on Academic Policy and Programs, and Planning and Budget Committee, all to be received for information.

## 3. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting

Reports 253 from the meeting of April 8, 2019, was approved.

## 4. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the Report of the previous meeting

## 5. Date of the Next Meeting

The Chair indicated that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, June 4, 2019.

## 6. Other Business

There were no items of other business

## The Committee moved IN CAMERA.

# 7. Appointments: 2019-20 Nominating Committee for the University Tribunal and Academic Appeals Committee

On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried

## YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the following individuals be appointed to the 2019 - 2020 Nominating Committee for the University Tribunal and the Academic Appeals Committee for a term from July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020.

Professor Edward Iacobucci, Chair and President's designate

Professor Ben Alarie, teaching staff member of the Academic Board Mr. Peng Fu, alumni member of the Academic Board Ms Mama Adobea Nii Owoo, student member of the Academic Board

## 8. Academic Administrative Appointments

On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried

## YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

The following academic administrative appointments.

## FACTOR-INWENTASH FACULTY OF SOCIAL WORK

Associate Professor David Burnes	Associate Dean, Academic July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2022
FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE	
Associate Professor Alana Boland	Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2022 [Extension]
Professor Jonathan Burgess	Interim Chair Department of Classics July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020
Associate Professor Stefan Soldovieri	Chair & Graduate Chair Department of Germanic Languages & Literatures July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2025 <i>[includes one year approved</i> <i>research and study leave]</i>
Professor Jamie Stafford	Vice-Dean, Interdivisional Partnerships July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2022
Professor Alexie Tcheuyap	Vice-Dean, Faculty, Academic Life & Equity July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2025 <i>[includes one year approved administrative leave]</i>

Professor Victoria Wohl Chair Department of Classics July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023

## FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Deirdre Dawson	Interim Chair and Graduate Chair Department of Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 [or until a new chair is appointed, whichever is first]
Professor Salvatore Spadafora	Acting Dean

Acting Dean January 1, 2020 to June 30, 2020

## FACULTY OF MUSIC

Associate Professor Steven Vande Moortele

Associate Dean, Research July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2022

## JOHN H. DANIELS FACULTY OF ARCHITECTURE, LANDSCAPE & DESIGN

Associate Professor Robert Levit

Associate Dean, Academic June 1, 2019 to May 31, 2021 [Extension]

## UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MISSISSAUGA

Associate Professor Andreas Bendlin

Acting Vice-Dean, Academic Experience July 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019

## UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Associate Professor Barry Freeman

Chair Department of Arts, Culture and Media July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2023 Associate Professor E. Natalie Rothman

Chair Department of Historical and Cultural Studies July 1 2019 to June 30 2025 [includes one year of approved research and study leave]

## FACULTY OF LAW

Professor Edward Iacobucci

Dean January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2024 [Renewal]

## The Committee returned to Open Session.

The Chair thanked members for their attendance and participation.

## The meeting adjourned at 3:57 p.m.

Secretary

Chair

May 22, 2019